Musica Elettronica Viva - Leave the city

    Essential album by MEV Formed in 1966 by Allan Bryant, Alvin Curran, Jon Phetteplace, Carol Plantamura, Frederic Rzweski, Richard Teitelbaum and Ivan Vandor in a room in Rome. MEV began sticking contact mics to anything that sounded and amplified their raw sounds: bed springs, sheets of glass, tin cans, rubber bands, toy pianos, sex vibrators, and assorted metal junk; a crushed old trumpet, cello and tenor sax kept us within musical credibility, while a home-made synthesizer of some 48 oscillators along with the first Moog synthesizer in Europe. The group abandoned both written scores and leadership and replaced them with improvisation and critical listening. Hard to find in this great shape. 

  • Musica Elettronica Viva
  • Leave the city
  • Label: BYG
  • Reference: 529.335 Actuel 35
  • Country: France
  • Release year: 1970
  • Cover state: EX
  • Vinyl state: NM
    • Currently unavailable